

# Strathcona Centre Community League Annual General Meeting Minutes Monday, November 8, 2021 - via Zoom

Chair: Delianne Meenhorst

Attendees: Nathan Carroll, Gord Lacey, Cheryl West-Hicks, Darcy Stevens, John de Haan, Sally Hammell, Jason Unger, Farhana Nurani, Kasia Caputa, Karen Rowswell, Doug Meggison, Jenn Costigan, Jeanie McDonnell, Donna Fong, Bernie Roessler, Scott Wright, Landon Schedler, Colin Margetts, Brian Moffat, Erin Flaherty, Ron Chalmers, Janet Couch, Jennifer Dubé, Mildred Thill - arrived after 9 pm

Absentees: Maureen Duguay, Derek Kaplan

- 1. Call to Order: 7:34 pm
- 2. Adoption of Agenda

Motion: To adopt the agenda. Moved by: Delianne Meenhorst. Seconded by: Jeanie McDonnell Carried.

## 3. Minutes of 2020 AGM

Motion: To accept the 2020 AGM Minutes, as amended.

Moved by: Delianne Meenhorst.

Seconded by: Donna Fong

Carried.

### 4. League Finances

4.1 Financial Statements for the Year Ended July 31, 2021

Revenue - reduced revenue Grants - increased Expenses - Building & Grounds has a number of upgrades Wage & Benefits - up \$10,000

Motion: to accept the Financial Statements as presented.

Moved by: John de Haan.

Seconded by: Nathan Carroll Carried.

4.2 <u>Appointment of reviewers of 2021-2022 financial records</u>

**Motion:** to appoint Doug Meggison and Gordon Kent as reviewers of 2021-2022 Financial Statements.

Moved by: John de Haan.

Seconded by: Jeanie McDonnell Carried.

#### 5. Reports

5.1 President - Delianne Meenhorst

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.

- 5.2 Vice President Nathan Carroll No Report Circulated Prior to Meeting.
- 5.3 Treasurer John de Haan

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.

5.4 Building and Grounds - Brian Moffat

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.

5.5 Hall Use - Jeanie McDonnell

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.

5.6 Membership - Bernie Roessler

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.

5.7 Programs - Donna Fong

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.

5.8 Social - Nathan Carroll

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.

5.9 Civics and Planning - Derek Kaplan - absent

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.

Update regarding Bateman Lands required.

- 5.10 Community and Neighbourhood Engagement Cheryl West-Hicks Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.
- 5.11 Soccer Jenn Costigan

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented

5.12 Community Garden - Daniel Auger

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.

5.13 Green Initiatives - Kasia Caputa

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.

5.14 Communications - Jenn Costigan

Report Circulated Prior to Meeting and Presented.

#### 6. Elections (2-year terms unless otherwise noted)

6.1 President (1 year)

Nathan Carroll nominated by self; Acclaimed.

6.2 Vice President

Sally Hammell nominated by self; Acclaimed.

6.3 Treasurer

John de Haan, lets his name stand.

6.4 Buildings & Grounds

Landon Schedler nominated by Sally Hammell, Acclaimed.

6.5 Hall Use

Jeanie McConnell, lets her name stand.

6.6 Green Initiatives

Jason Unger nominated by Kasia Caputa; and Darcy Stevens nominated by Kasia Caputa;

Acclaimed.

### 6.7 Social

Farhana Nurani nominated by Nathan Carroll; Acclaimed.

- 6.8 Communications Vacant
- 6.9 Director of Diversity & Inclusion "Reworded" position Cheryl West-Hicks lets her name stand.
- 6.10 Board Development "New" position Maureen Duguay nominated by self, Acclaimed.
- 6.11 Community Garden

Daniel Auger, lets his name stand.

6.12 Community Wellness & Safety - "New" position Gord Lacey nominated by self; Acclaimed.

#### 7. New Business:

7.1 2021-2022 Operating Budget

Net Income: Deficit \$21,442.98

7.2 <u>Solar Panel Project</u> Total cost: \$52,000 Rebate: \$22,500 Recover that in 5 - 8 years

#### 7.3 Tripartite Agreement

Three parties are involved: Community League, EFCL and City of Edmonton. This is the last year of the 10 year agreement. The new Tripartite Agreement commences January 1, 2022 for 10 years. All third parties must have insurance.

#### 8. Adjournment: 9:11 pm

8.1 **Motion:** To adjourn the Board Meeting.

Moved by: Delianne Meenhorst

Seconded by: Bernie Roessler. Carried.

#### Next Annual General Meeting: Monday November 7th 2022

Date: November 7th 2022

Katie Krause Secretary